Skip to content

The 180 project

August 23, 2012

I am jumping on the “180” bandwagon. Today I started a new blog called “Ms Poodry’s 180 days of teaching” and I will try to post one thing per day, usually a photo or video, that relates somehow to my job as a high school physics teacher. Today I posted a photo of some papers on my desk at home, because I did not go to school today. My first day of inservices (dull meetings and frantically getting my classroom ready) will be Tuesday August 28th and students will not start until the following Tuesday.

Frank Noschese did a 180 blog last year, and this year a bunch of teachers I follow on Twitter are doing it and I want to be one of the cool kids. So I will give it a try. Like many of the things I am doing this year, it will be interesting to see if I am able to keep it going all year or if it will fizzle out and lie dormant for the last 8 months of school. If you are interested in seeing other people’s 180 blogs, I have some links at the bottom of mine. I will probably add some more links eventually.

I also worked on my website today, which is at https://sites.google.com/site/physicsnode/ and still needs a lot of links added, like one for students to check their progress on ActiveGrade, and some documents, like the field trip permission form for the Maker Faire field trip I am doing on September 29th.

The last thing I worked on today was checking over and revising my grading policy for my conceptual class, as seen in the previous post. I need to finalize my standards so I can post that here and on my website, and on my class Moodle page. So many digital places! I predict that one thing that will happen this year is I will start using fewer digital spaces for my stuff.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

